The Rocking Chair

“Every man dies. Not every man really lives.” ~ William Wallace

Someday, God willing, I’ll grow old.

I wonder what I’ll remember most… What will be something(s) I accomplished that I’ll be proud of? What kind of lasting impact was made on others as a result of my mere existence?

When I retire, sitting in this rocking chair looking out at the beauty of the world, will my reflections of the life passed leave a smile on my face? Will my time on this planet have been lived to its fullest? Will I have loved life (because, after all, what else is there)?

For consideration: http://www.inspirationandchai.com/Regrets-of-the-Dying.html

These rocking chairs are a reminder that life is but a fleeting moment in time. It is worth turning off the TV and the computer and doing something worth remembering.

Go forth and live today with tomorrow in mind.

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and to endure the betrayal of false friends. To appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; to know that even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”  ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

2 responses to “The Rocking Chair

  1. Life is worth living by doing things that make you happy and making sure you take advantage of every oportunity that comes to you. It’s the little things that count, our society forgets that sometimes. I was just talking to my mother about how I try to live my life to the fullest and that no matter what obsitcles come my way I think how everything happens for a reason.

  2. I completely agree – sometimes this is easy to forget. This week, I’ve really been taking it for granted and not allowing myself to see the big picture, getting lost in the feeble attempt to find my purpose. This has kept me from enjoying the day-to-day. We are blessed to live in a country where all basic needs are met, which allows us to pursue happiness most every day. Sometimes we just have to remind ourselves this, not waste the little time we have, lest we regret it when we are sitting in that rocking chair.

Leave a Reply

