Life’s a beach, I’m just playing in the sand.

Imagine a place where everyone seems to be smiling and at total peace. Where the sun hugs you with every perfect warm breeze, and the stars shine brilliant in the night sky. This place has beguiling gardens, beaches, mountains and hundreds of waterfalls. The smell of spring lingers in the air all year-long, thanks to the millions of plumerias adding color to the already lush garden landscape.

I don't have a picture of the plumeria, however, the hibiscus can be found almost everywhere on the windward side of Maui. The yellow hibiscus, maʻo hau hele, which is native to the islands became the state flower in the '80s. In Hawaiian tradition the hibiscus is a symbol for the old royalty and is a flower that brings, besides great beauty, great power and respect.

I speak of a paradise that will forever be calling me to come back to it.

Mark Twain once said “I went to Maui to stay a week and remained five. I never spent so pleasant a month before, or bade any place goodbye so regretfully. I have not once thought of business, or care or human toil or trouble or sorrow or weariness, and the memory of it will remain with me always.”

Mr. Twain and I have that in common

Maui is a fairly small island, both in size and population (with roughly 160,000 it has fewer people living there than in Lincoln Nebraska), with an over-abundance of things to see and do. It is just the perfect place to visit, a true paradise found at every turn – I fell in love. As one might expect, Maui is surrounded by all kinds of beaches…and I’m just a big kid who never lost her love for the beach.

Hamoa Beach is easily one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

While I no longer build sandcastles, I still love being knocked over by a big wave. I still get lost when looking out at the endless horizon of the ocean. I’m soothed by the musical rhythm created when waves roll up against the shore.  I feel renewed on the beach as if its nature’s great tranquility spa. When I float off into serenity with the water holding me gently in its grasp, I can only imagine possible ways to be here forever. I still fantasize about living under the water, yes, like Ariel. When you’re in paradise, almost anything seems possible…

Had God created anything better than Maui, he certainly would have kept it for himself. The Hawaiian locals say “Maui no ka oi”, Maui is the best. I wholeheartedly agree…you don’t have to die to go to heaven.

Hamoa Beach is a half-moon-shaped, gray-sand beach (made from a mix of coral and lava) which sits below 30-foot, black-lava sea cliffs.

One response to “Life’s a beach, I’m just playing in the sand.

Leave a Reply

